Portal de Totana

Totana - SpanishTotana - English
detail of Totana


Vox Musicalis play the Requiem of John Rutter for cycle spaces Sound (31/03/2011)

The coming days 8 and 10 April, the polyphonic choir Vox Totana Musicalis act within the spaces Sonoros'11 cycle performing a program of English composer John Rutter.

With the participation of its director, Pedro Perez, as soloist, and the Cartagena Chamber Orchestra, under the direction of Catalan Tomeu Quetglas Roca.

The concerts will be Friday April 8 at the church of Santa Florentina (La Palma de Cartagena) at 20.30 pm, and Sunday, April 10 at the military church of Sto.

Domingo (Cartagena), also at 20.30 h.

The Requiem of John Rutter (b. 1945) was released in 1985 in Dallas (Texas, USA).

This is a work for chorus with orchestral accompaniment.

The author added to the structure of the Requiem Mass two extra numbers in English.

The first movement (Requiem aeternam, "Eternal Rest") consists of the Introit and the Kyrie of the Mass for the dead.

The second movement (Out of the deep, "From the depths") used as the text Psalm 130, which is commonly used in the funerals of the Anglican church, and includes a major solo cello.

The third movement is the motet Pie Jesu, for soprano soloist.

During this movement the chorus is seated and responds to interventions by the soloist, as if it were an echo with the words "Give them eternal rest."

The fourth movement (Sanctus) is formed by the Holy and Benedictus, and possesses a strong bright and lively character.

The orchestration in this movement includes bells, flute, oboe and drums, recalling the description of the Old Testament (Isaiah 6) and the worship of the six-winged seraphim in the heavenly throne.

The fifth movement (Agnus Dei, "Lamb of God") combines the text of the Requiem Mass with English text from the Lamentations of Job (14:1).

Also, the sixth movement (The Lord is my shepherd, "The Lord is my shepherd") uses the text of the famous Psalm 23, commonly used at funerals Anglicans.

This movement was composed in 1976 as a separate anthem.

Finally, the seventh movement (Lux aeterna) includes, besides the text itself of the requiem mass, a short text in English sung by the soloist ("I heard a voice from heaven ...").

Complete the program parts of John Rutter For the Beauty of the Earth, The Lord bless you & keep you and the Cantique de Jean Racine by Gabriel Fauré in Orchestration version of the Rutter.

"If a composer and Rutter, in current times, to continue creating music so vital and visceral without departing from the limits of conventional tonality, is a source of continuous amazement. Must have something to do with his incredible stylistic diversity: its chameleon-like ability to take feelings and sounds of an amazing variety of influences, ranging from Gregorian chant to jazz and blues, and mix in such a way that is convincing a whole "(American Record Guide, August 2003).

Source: Vox Musicalis

UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2019 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información